Grove Street Pilsener

On Saturday evening I brewed an attempt at a pilsener-style lager, since my basement is hoving in the high 40s to low 50s now that it’s winter, and I haven’t tried a lager before. I bought ingredients for two batches at once, this and the Grove Street Amber, and when I brewed the pilsener, I mistakenly used one can of extra-light malt extract and one can of light, instead of two extra-light, but I hope this won’t make it too dark. I also used a pound of CaraPils malt.  Saaz hops are hard to come by at the moment, and though I found some, I had to make do with pellets. Still, I’m looking forward to seeing how it comes out; even if it doesn’t end up a perfect pilsener, it should be a decent, crisp lager.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

