Grove Street Stout

Just brewed Grove Street Stout, actually my first stout in…six or seven years, I think.  Nothing very fancy, should be nice and dry, a little bit over the gravity and IBU limits for the BJCP Dry Stout style, but well within the range for American Stout.  Used Glacier for flavor and aroma, so we’ll see how that goes; I’ve been trying to branch out to different hops lately.  Also tried making a quart yeast starter 24 hours in advance this time, so hopefully that’ll get fermentation going right quick.  It was kind of fun doing the stovetop mash for the half-pound of grain I used for the starter; made me wish I had the space, equipment and time to do all-grain brews…

One comment

Leave a Reply

